Youthemeus

Because there are few things we can be sure of….

The shadow of a gecko

on April 18, 2014

20140418-104233.jpg

I was feeling cut adrift, whirling loose in the wind. Like a piece of sail ripped from its lashing.
My mind churned, spitting out worries like cherry stones.
The clock shouted time’s passage with each clock-click tock-tick tic-tac-toe.
Lists upon lists upon lists in a tower of to-do. Lists listlessly listing, tilting, toppling; balanced upon the acropolis of my thoughts.
Anxious energies were stealing the oxygen. My heart was trying to escape my ribs in an attempt to reclaim the precious air.
The spiralling whirlwind picked me up and span me, spun me, would not stop spinning me.
From the corner of my dizzy eye I caught a movement.
I looked.
I looked again.
The world stop turning.
The flags grew limp, the air grew still and calm stepped back into my presence.

I saw the shadow of a gecko on the wall.
A shadow on the wall.
The tiny shape clung and cleaved to the impossible surface.
Amid the maelstrom, the creature moved with purpose and focus.
Its shadow lay on the wall, reminding me to be. Just be.
I am only a shadow, and the wall is not my experience; it is merely one of many ways that I express myself.
I am the gecko in the light.
It’s my shadow that is feeling the wall, that is all.

The shadow of a gecko guided me home.

Leave a Reply

